Cheer ‘Em On

Don’t you think we need to cheer each other on a little bit more?

In a culture where we are taught to constantly compare ourselves to one another- whether it be appearance, intelligence, profession, social status- I think it would do us all a little good to start being happy for each other. Genuinely.

I want to start being intentional about telling people I’m proud of them, and that I’m happy for them. So today I’m starting with my lifelong besties. You know, the ‘til death due us part type friends.

Go cheer someone on today. It’ll make their day. And yours.

So, in no particular order, meet:gracie copyGracie should have been Miss Tennessee. Courageously moving to Manhattan after college to pursue PR, she now works for ESPN. Yep, she’s the one all the groomsmen in our wedding were most excited to meet, married ones included. She’s the most positive and encouraging person I know, always greeting people with a smile. She models confidence, creativity and compassion, and I admire her. Queen bee, I’m proud of the person you are, happy for your success and grateful for your friendship. Love, queen bee.stacia copyStacia, she’s a smarty pants, both in academics and humor. She recently got a great accounting job where she now discusses things involving the word ‘nuclear.’ She bought a truck, bought a house and bought a dog. We’ve travelled the world together and sat home on Friday nights together, but there’s never a boring moment. She is the best company and laughing partner in all the land (and Twister partner). She’s disciplined, supportive and adventurous. Shooter, I’m proud of the person you are, happy for your success and grateful for your friendship. Love, Kellen. alyssa copy1Alyssa is a fireball. She’s a loyal, hard-working dreamer. And the funniest foul-mouth I know. She works for the American Cancer Society and pursues her dream of being an event planner on the weekends. She’s a go-getter, who I wish I were more like, unafraid and bold. Thanks for always providing a good laugh, can’t wait to be your bridesmaid in November! Alice, I’m proud of the person you are, happy for your success and grateful for your friendship. Love, K-Hawk.steph copyStephanie is a dream catcher. She recently quit her job of 4 years to pursue a job in the cheese industry. Cheese is her passion, and she’s going for it. She’s inspirational, poised and down-to-earth. She’s got the best legs in Brooklyn but an even more impressive heart. She’s easy to talk to, offering equal parts listening and advice. Stephania, I’m proud of the person you are, happy for your success and grateful for your friendship. Love, Kate.

6 thoughts on “Cheer ‘Em On

  1. What a wonderful blog you wrote on “cheering others on”! I so appreciate the trait
    of looking for the best in those who are major in your life. Three cheers for you!

  2. Why have I never met these girls? Just kidding. You do have wonderful friends and I’m glad they have been part of my life as well. Keep cheering them. They deserve it.

  3. Pingback: A look back | love in lufkin

  4. Pingback: Shooter and Kellen | love in lufkin

  5. Pingback: Welcome to the Bunny Club | love in lufkin

  6. Pingback: To Alex and Stacia | love in lufkin

Leave a Reply

