Sunday night thoughts: Living for the Weekdays

photoI don’t want to be a weekend girl.

Do I want to relish in all the perks that Saturday and Sunday bring? Ummm, yeah, duh.

Do I want to wake up next to my boo with no alarm? Wear my pajamas as if they are a space suit ready to kill me if I take them off? Eat donuts and processed food because somehow the harmful effects can’t touch me ‘til Monday? Delight in the freedom of small adventures and time with friends?

Yes to the heck ya  X 100.

But I don’t want to be a weekend girl.

I don’t want to count the days as if the weekend is my source of life. Wednesday—3 more days. Thursday—2 more days. Friday—the party boat of life sets sail.

But what do I want?

I want to look forward to the weekend without overlooking the weekdays.

So what will I do?

I will wake up Monday morning shouting IT’S MONDAY! IT’S MONDAY! I will make choices on TUESDAY. Choices to say hello in the hallways, to encourage anyone and everyone, to demonstrate compassion, to hand out grace. I will appreciate another WEDNESDAY. Appreciate the day not because of the circumstances, but because it’s another day I can give love because I am loved. On THURSDAY I will learn from others, embrace everyone, exclude no one, celebrate creativity and recognize beauty in my surroundings. And on FRIDAY, I will look back at the week seeing not wants and hopes but moves and actions. I will see days peppered with both success and failure, but mostly with extraordinary effort.

I also know this week I will grow weary. I will become annoyed at a student and watch the second hand tick slowly by. Dirty dishes will loiter the coffee table for days, and the toilet paper will pile up without ever making it on the roller. I will hurt and see others hurt. I will stress. I will fail. I will long for the weekend.

But I don’t want to be a weekend girl.

So somehow, through life-giving grace, I won’t just make it through the day, I will experience the day for all it holds. I will take each step knowing the next is nothing short of a gift. And I will remember that all of my ‘will do’s’ are only possible because of His ‘has done.’

Tomorrow is Monday. I hope Walker is ready for a 6 a.m. operatic ballad proclaiming the joy of a new week. Or maybe I’ll just dry my hair and fasten my shoes as normal and give him a kiss goodbye. Declaring the greatness of a new and merciful day in the ordinary opportunities. In the everyday.

photo1

5 thoughts on “Sunday night thoughts: Living for the Weekdays

  1. Thank you for this timely post. I have become guilty of being a weekend girl but today I give that up and will choose to live everyday to the fullest. As if it is a precious gift from a loving father because that is exactly what it is. Thank You, thank you, thank you!

  2. Pingback: A look back | love in lufkin

Leave a Reply

