‘I remember it all very well looking back…”

Blog Every Day in May: Five songs or pieces of music that speak to you or bring back memories.

My first thought of ‘memorable songs’ was my mom jumping on my bed in the mornings singing ‘good morning to you, good morning to you, we’re all in our places with bright shiny faces. this is the way to start a good day!’ But I couldn’t find that one online anywhere…

I’m realizing how ridiculously random this little assortment of songs is going to be. And I don’t consider them to be a fitting representation of my current musical taste, but I guess they do show that I’m a fan of all genres. Except 90’s rock bands. They fit together in absolutely no way, except for the whole bringing back memories part. It’s actually hard for me to post such an non-cohesive collection, but it’s nearing the end of this challenge so I’m going for it.

Fancy. Reba is my girl. Some might say homegirl. And we can all agree that this song + the music video is her greatest ever. Did you know I cried when I first saw her in concert? Did I mention I was 23? I wish I could even begin to list off my memories involving Reba, but I bet anyone reading this who knows me can think of one!

You’re Beautiful. Phil Wickham. I walked down the aisle to this song, and I love it as much now as I did then.

Mobile. Oh Avril Lavigne. I picked this song as representative of her entire ‘Let Go’ album as it was pretty much the soundtrack of my summer in Spain. I think it pumped me up into feeling independent and strong.

Como la flor. Selena. Because Selena deserves to be in everyone’s top 5 most memorable songs. Period. Also, let’s talk about how offended I got when the first option for ‘Selena’ was Selena Gomez.

Chasing cars. Snow Patrol. My college roommates and I used to lay on the floor, hold hands and listen to this song. I don’t remember if we were relaxing, cherishing the moment or being some kind of emo, but I do know I miss those days.

BONUS!

Next to me. Emeli Sande. My current jam. Opal and I have dance parties 4-6 times per week to this song. Occasionally Walker joins in, you know, next to me.

I wish I had time to talk about The Lizzie McGuire Soundtrack we listened to endlessly in high school…

5 thoughts on “‘I remember it all very well looking back…”

  1. Reba is soooo awesome! Saw her at Cynthia Woods Pavillon many years ago! When she got out of that Model T that had been dropped down from above with her (Fancy) in it I almost lost my mind! along with the rest of the crowd!!:) love me some Reba!!!

  2. Pingback: Glen + Deb | love in lufkin

Leave a Reply

