“I’m like Noah!”

picnicHappy 1st day of school!

I. Am. Exhausted.

It’s been an emotional road getting to today. From wondering if I would ever find employment to being hired and feeling overwhelmed with the intricacies of the public school system, I’ve felt unsteady for almost 2 years. But today felt good. Really good. For the first time in a long time, I have something to call mine. A classroom that belongs to me and me alone. I guess I do have to share it with 140 teenagers. And for that I am thankful. I have a space where I get to share my knowledge, my mind, my heart and my passions with high schoolers. I look back to the educational fortunes I’ve had. The traveling I’ve done. The people I’ve met and sat under. What I’ve had the blessed opportunity to learn can never really only belong to me. It must be shared, or I’ve missed the whole point. So for the next 175 days of school, I will do my best, through eagerness or weariness, to remember all those who have shared with me, so that I may share with mine.

I’m excited. Let’s do this.

I’ve felt so loved these past few weeks. From friends and family sending me school supplies and gift cards to the phone calls of support and the multiple texts wishing me a great first day, I’ve been so encouraged. And blown away by the thoughtfulness of the people in my life. So thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

These are some pictures from our ‘last big adventure’ on Saturday. I was told to get dressed and gather supplies for a picnic. Little did I know the picnic was only the beginning of one of our best dates ever. I found myself at a drive-through wildlife reserve where the animals come and eat from your hand. Yeah Yuh! cherokee tracebisonhornscome onzebrazebra zebrazebra teethdeercamel and llamas camel in the carcamel scaredeer in the headlightsemuemu catchGood catch, emu! Good date, Walker!

And  yes, you were exactly like Noah.

8 thoughts on ““I’m like Noah!”

  1. Great photos of you guys. Congratulations Katelyn on your job – I’m sure you will be a great teacher – Judy and I are pleased for both of you – we are sorry we missed catching up earlier this year – Our love to you – Judy and Peter

  2. I love the pictures! And I am so glad you had a good first day! But most of all I am glad you are a teacher! Kids need people like you who love them and love to teach! Thanks!
    By the way where is the place with all the animals?

  3. WOW WOW WOW How fabulous./ I noticed you threw food to the emu Walker Bright Move.

    Congratulations you two and BIG CONGRATS to you Katelyn on getting what sounds like a fabulous job. Enjoy the learning curve for you and your students.
    Have fun
    Love Judy

  4. Katelyn! I so enjoyed your new post yesterday! I am so looking forward to hearing more about this wonderful new adventure and exciting opportunity that you have launched in your life. You have worked hard, prepared well, and have the heart it takes to carry on. Your intense love for what you are teaching can be recognized and your interest and concern for each student can help your students realize what a fine teacher you are. And thank goodness, every day is a “new day” for both students and teacher. 🙂 With lots of love, Grandmother

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

