ISFJ in da house!

Blogtember 5:  Take this short personality test and respond to your results.photo

I have a love/hate relationship with these types of tests. And with the popular extrovert/introvert discussion happening right now. So much so that I have half a post already written on the subject that I hope to finish one day. You know, when those papers get graded. But here we go!

Introverted/Sensing/Feeling/Judging

Other notable ISFJ’s… Teresa of Avila, Louisa May Alcott, Kristi Yamaguchi. KRISTI YAMAGUCHI! Did y’all hear that? My personality lines up with that of the hero who graced my childhood walls for years. The graceful figure on the posters I recently kept when my parents made me purge my belongings from their house this summer. I feel I could stop this post with just that info alone. But…

ISFJs live in a world that is concrete and kind. They are truly warm and kind-hearted, and want to believe the best of people. They value harmony and cooperation, and are likely to be very sensitive to other people’s feelings. People value the ISFJ for their consideration and awareness, and their ability to bring out the best in others by their firm desire to believe the best.

I do. In my core I believe the best in people, and occasionally I wonder if I go too far. I often find myself feeling sorry for people when others lean toward justice. Examples? I’ve been known to worry about the feelings of people like Bin Laden and the Boston Marathon bombers.

ISFJs have a rich inner world that is not usually obvious to observers. They constantly take in information about people and situations that is personally important to them, and store it away. This tremendous store of information is usually startlingly accurate, because the ISFJ has an exceptional memory about things that are important to their value systems. It would not be uncommon for the ISFJ to remember a particular facial expression or conversation in precise detail years after the event occured, if the situation made an impression on the ISFJ.

My memory would blow your mind. Just ask my high school friends. I receive calls and texts asking me if I remember so and so and who was the person that bla bla bla. I. Remember. Everything. I’m one of the most observant people you’ll ever meet. I notice the small things. The big things. And those medium things, too.  It boggles my mind when people have bad memories.

More so than other types, ISFJs are extremely aware of their own internal feelings, as well as other people’s feelings. They do not usually express their own feelings, keeping things inside. If they are negative feelings, they may build up inside the ISFJ until they turn into firm judgments against individuals, which are difficult to unseed, once set. Many ISFJs learn to express themselves, and find outlets for their powerful emotions.

I had a friend once tell me, “You are incredibly self-analytical.” Give me a few days and I can almost always figure out what exactly I’m feeling and where it’s stemming from. I notice the feelings of others, too. And I worry about them. I can usually pick up on a person’s emotions, reactions or moods when others might not notice. I don’t often express myself verbally so most people don’t realize this side of me. My outlet? Writing.

ISFJs need positive feedback from others. In the absence of positive feedback, or in the face of criticism, the ISFJ gets discouraged, and may even become depressed.

Ya, I don’t like being criticized.  Don’t criticize me. Or anybody for that matter. Let’s just all stop criticizing each other. Don’t we all criticize ourselves enough. At least be constructive. With good intentions. 

The ISFJ is warm, generous, and dependable. They have many special gifts to offer, in their sensitivity to others, and their strong ability to keep things running smoothly. They need to remember to not be overly critical of themselves, and to give themselves some of the warmth and love which they freely dispense to others.

It’s true. I can offer grace, compassion and praise to others, but don’t ask me to do  give the same to my own person.  If I could only count how many times Walker has told me I’m too hard on myself. And with that, I’ve talked about myself way too much for one post.

So, that’s me. Me and Kristi Yamaguchi.

All quotes from here.

4 thoughts on “ISFJ in da house!

Leave a Reply

